Dark Powers

Tom (Roe River Books)
Dark Powers Book Cover Dark Powers
Makt Myrkranna
Classic, Horror
The Overlook Press
Out Now
Hardback @ €24.00

We’re really intrigued, here at Roe River Books,  by this new (well as new as a 100 year old book can be) book. In 1900, Icelandic publisher and writer Valdimar Ásmundsson set out to translate Bram Stoker’s 1897 novel Dracula. Called Makt Myrkranna (literally, “Powers of Darkness”)

The Icelandic edition included an original preface written by Stoker himself. Makt Myrkranna was published in Iceland in 1901 but remained undiscovered outside of the country until 1986.

In 2014 a literary scholar Hans de Roos took a serious look at Ásmundsson translation and found that  Ásmundsson hadn’t just translated Dracula but had written an entirely new version of the story.

Complete with new characters and a totally re-worked plot. The resulting narrative is one that is shorter, punchier, more erotic, and some say more suspenseful than Stoker’s Dracula.

Hard to believe Makt Myrkranna has never been translated or even read outside of Iceland until now 117 years after it was originally published. Presented in a beautiful Hardback edition it comes with illustrations and diagrams of Castle Dracula (including a hidden room from an earlier draft of the novel by Stoker but deleted from his final version) and a terrific cover. A must for fans of Stoker and Dracula, an authentic alternate version of the Legend not to be missed.

Review by: Tom (Roe River Books)